Yesterday, on the morning of the New Year, as I was walking home I came across a snake. 0020 hours. The first 20 minutes of 2017. Now I don’t know what to make of it, or whether something should be made of it at all but I found it quite an odd occurrence. I was at my neighbor’s, after stoning away 2016 when I decided it was time for me to go home. The moon was out, people were still celebrating and I’m high as fuck wondering if I’ll ever get home. Halfway into the journey I suddenly come upon a snake. At first I thought it was the weed but the damned creature begins to slither away and I realize it’s real. Now I’m thinking, ‘that’s a hell of a way for a year to start’. I stood, rooted to the spot, tongue-tied, weighing my options, a calm assessment of the situation. Maybe not that calm. I look around and the closest people are too far and it’s sliding away anyway. As soon as that thought crossed my mind the snake stopped. And turned. It was about 5 meters away, and about 2 feet long and black as night, like it had consumed all the darkness that was being kept at bay by the moonlight.

It starts slithering towards me. My instincts kicked in. I turned and walked for a while and took a diversion, all the while throwing periodic glances backwards to see if it was still following me. It disappeared in the grass. I had evaded it, yet I didn’t even know for sure if it was coming after me. Maybe it just wanted to wish me a happy new year. Haha. It had messed up my mind. Now every black object on the ground became the snake, even as I approached more crowded areas. Anything on that road that wasn’t the road was subject to suspicion. Fear had somehow gripped me. My gait became that of prey that knew its predator lay near-by, ready to pounce. Irregular, indecisive, slow, speedy, confused.

My short walk home lasted twice as long. Weirdest new year of my life. Predecessor to the year? Maybe. Maybe not. All i know, its going to be an interesting year. We’ll see in a year’s time.

Leave a Reply

